A Candle in the Dark

A look on science, politics, religion and events

Elements of satire – I

with 2 comments

satire1 (săt’īr’) –
1. A literary work in which human vice or folly is attacked through irony, derision, or wit.
2. Irony, sarcasm, or caustic wit used to attack or expose folly, vice, or stupidity.

Satire also happens to be my favorite form of humor. I mean, when you look at the crazy stuff which abundantly infests reality and realize that you can’t change the “system”, the one thing you can do is laugh at it, cause hey, at least you’re laughing.

Besides, I think it serves another practical purpose. If there’s any belief, faith or idea that you think is too “serious” to be the subject of satire and get outraged, then it’s time for you think deeply on why you believe what you believe.

Anyway, the purpose of this series of posts is to list some of my favorite works which contain some elements of satire that I’ve enjoyed. I’ll start with my all time favorite.

Yes Minister/Prime minister

Yes Minister is an absolutely brilliant British sitcom, originally aired on BBC. As far as satires go, this one is a gem. It’s merciless and very funny. For example, here’s a clip (on roof gardens!) that satirizes typical political stonewalling. In fact, since the clips are freely available on youtube, I’ll list a few of my favourite clips. If you don’t have anything else to do, I suggest watching these clips as an honorable way to waste time.

Notes

[1]-
“satire.” The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition. Houghton Mifflin Company, 2004. Answers.com 16 Jul. 2007. http://www.answers.com/topic/satire

[2] – or, (this one is for you N), a reshuffle on the cards?

Written by parseval

July 16, 2007 at 4:41 pm

Posted in fun, personal, politics, videos

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. What ho! There isn’t a pun there at all! [In Note no. 2]
    I watched one episode of ‘Yes Minister’ taking your suggestion, but my laughter decibels weren’t as high as when I watched Blackadder. Perhaps I picked the wrong episode. I’ll watch another before long.
    Satire, although my Chicken posts would prove otherwise, is not my favourite genus of comedy. Wordplay is. 😉 And the unclassifiable Wodehousical tickles top that!

    N

    August 6, 2007 at 12:44 pm

  2. Aye!! Nothing, I repeat, _Nothing_ even comes near Y{P}M when it comes to _intelligent_ comedy! It’s the single greatest sitcom ever made! And btw, in the faraway lands of low piracy and no DC++, I was subsisting on
    http://www.alluc.org
    Darned good site, I must say!

    (http://www11.alluc.org/alluc/tv-shows.html?lang=null&letterselect=Y)

    Mohan

    August 17, 2007 at 7:30 am


Leave a Reply

